jump to navigation

Wonderful Canberra 4 September 2013

Posted by Mekekamps in Canberra, Happiness, Travelling.
Tags:
trackback

It is amazing what three weeks can do in Canberra.

Blistering cold winds, rain, clouds and grey have been replaced with the big blue skies that makes me all sooky for Australia, warm, sunny days, with a light summery breeze. Not quite spring, but on the precipice.

Blossoms everywhere, crocuses popping their head through the grass. And the rose bushes in front of my house, which I only pruned back to nothing in the beginning of June are visibly growing buds every day. Yesterday, they were buds, today they are two centimetre long leaves and stalks.

What an amazing turn around. Soon there will be ducklings galore. Lunches outside. All those wonderful spring activities.

I bought a motorbike. And two weekends ago I rode it to Uriarra Reserve. A perfect ride of about half an hour. Gorgeous scenery. Windy roads. And a picnic with friends at the other end of it all.

And this weekend, I went with my partner to the south coast to celebrate his birthday. We brought our push bikes, and rode them along the beach. Ate fish and chips and had one of the best Thai green curries we’ve ever had. It was only for two nights, but it felt like a holiday.

So bring it on, Canberra. I can’t wait to run and cycle along your paths. Familiarise myself again with you after what felt like a short and rainy winter. Bring it on 🙂

20130904-155035.jpg

20130904-155054.jpg

20130904-155109.jpg

20130904-155127.jpg

Comments»

1. kirbyp - 5 September 2013

Spring already? Ôi giới ôi that came around quickly! Enjoy.


Leave a comment