jump to navigation

Charming Canberra 27 August 2011

Posted by uggclogs in Life.
trackback

Two mornings ago, I was off to a very bad start. I woke up during the night only covered by a sheet, and freezing through and through. Even the blankets could not warm me up, and I was still cold by the time my alarm went.

I stayed longer than I should trying to warm up, to no avail. I then had to walk through a cold house to the cold bathroom, and wait for the water to get warm. But even the hot water did not seem to improve my morning, the cold feeling had gone straight through to my bones, and it did not feel like I would ever warm up again.

Then, everything changed.

As I was standing there contemplating the cold, feeling tired, and maybe a little sorry for myself, the sun came up. The rays hit the house, and shone through the frosted panes just to where I was standing. It put a smile on my face, and turned the morning around. It is incredible how a little bit of natural light can lift your mood. But wait – there is more!

Walking to the bus, I encountered cockatoos, screeching and flying overhead. I saw rosellas, blue wrens, currawongs, magpies and king parrots. Then, I hear a scratch. Pause. Scratch.

When I look up, I see a single, enormous, grey kangaroo lazily hopping along the road. He is keeping a good eye on me, but does not seem very scared or worried. Then, he disappears into a side street, and I no longer see him.

The skies are deep blue, and as I get on my bus, I know it’s going to be a beautiful day.

 

 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

