jump to navigation

Only in Vietnam #15 16 March 2011

Posted by uggclogs in Life, only in Vietnam, Travelling, Vietnam.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

So, I ignored all warnings about the weather today, and by the time I reached the office, I was very cold.

But I love the Vietnamese – they are known for giving you all sorts of advice.

Today, a lady I have never seen or spoken to before came up to me and told me with a big smile that two layers for this kind of weather was certainly not enough, and I needed to be careful, because no matter how strong (or “healthy”) I was, I would get sick.

I received at least 3 more such comments along the 20 metres that I walk to get to my office from the motorbike.

Isn’t that just adorable, that the Vietnamese care enough about complete strangers to worry about their health! I love this country. I love the people in my street. I am so lucky to be here.

UPDATE: two days later, all wrapped up in a jacket and wearing earmuffs, I see the same lady again, and she points, laughs, and exclaims “that is MUCH better!”

Comments»

1. hielke kamps - 16 March 2011

I scratch my bolding head.
I really don’t know what to make out of this, should I read it as it does or should I read in between the lines with a heavy undertone of sarcasm

2. uggclogs - 16 March 2011

Hahaha. I am not always being sarcastic. I actually quite like the fact that people care about you differently in Vietnam than in the West. In the beginning I might have found it an intrusion on my privacy, but now I have come to understand it is actually meant as a way to care about you!

3. Jennie Marchant - 16 March 2011

Honestly, you have such a good attitude. I get lectured almost every time I take my kids to the alley – I almost dread it sometimes. Everyone scolds me that my kids should have more layers and warmer clothing on.

uggclogs - 17 March 2011

The best advice I was given when I came to Vietnam was “every day will be the same, the only difference is how well you can handle it”. And it is true, I guess I was having a good day 🙂


Leave a Reply

