jump to navigation

Morning musings 16 July 2010

Posted by uggclogs in Happiness, Life.
Tags: , ,
trackback

For those of you who know me, you know that I am definitely not a morning person. I love my sleep, and can’t think of a worse way to start my day than by getting up.

Worse still is getting up early. It’s that awful realisation when the alarm goes off that this is it. It’s those long, drawn out minutes where I have to will my brain to start ticking so I won’t fall back to sleep. And it is the negotiation that starts between my brain and my body of how many minutes I am allowed to snooze. This morning, it was 29.

But this morning was also one of those rare moments of bliss. Once I had dragged myself up, had a shower, and was dressed enough to go into the living room, I sat in the couch facing the window, and was stirred from my thoughts by gorgeous little chirps.

Chirp-chirp-chirp-chirp. Three chirps rising in pitch, one falling.

It was a tiny little bul-bul. His mouth would open, his throat widen and his little chest would heave to push out the song. He was sitting right there on the banister to my balcony, serenading a female.

It was beautifully serene.

And although I am still tired, I love the fact that I was up at six thirty this morning to see my little friend.

Comments»

1. Joe - 18 July 2010

I love my sleep, and can’t think of a worse way to start my day than by getting up.

You’re such a good writer Meke, I think you should write a book. I think you could do 60,000 words in year.

uggclogs - 18 July 2010

That may interfere with my sleeping schedule, though…

2. lizeth - 20 August 2010

CHIRP, I agree with Joe!


Leave a Reply

