jump to navigation

Rescuing Children in Vietnam 15 June 2010

Posted by uggclogs in Life.
trackback

I have blogged about Blue Dragon before, but I need to do so again. I need to tell all my friends and family what an amazing organisation it is, yet again.

The national newspaper, Thanh Nien, wrote a piece about them recently. It is worth a read. If you don’t know what life is like for the poorest of the poor in Vietnam, read this. It is why I support Blue Dragon with all my heart.

Stark poverty had prompted Thien’s parents to send him to work for a private garment factory in Ho Chi Minh City’s Binh Tan District in 2008. Thien said he had to work almost 18 hours with two main meals per day.

“I was so exhausted that I could not sleep well for the rest of my night,” Thien told Thanh Nien Weekly.

Brought back to his hometown in Thua Thien Hue’s Phu Loc District last November thanks to a campaign launched by NGO Blue Dragon Children’s Foundation and Thua Thien Hue authorities, Thien said his life was finally headed in the right direction.

“Now I can go to school. I can live in my new house with my parents. I no longer have to work extremely hard. My life couldn’t be simpler and I love it.”

To read the full story, see here.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

