jump to navigation

My dad 21 April 2010

Posted by uggclogs in Life.
trackback

My dad means the world to me. I have always been a bit of ‘daddy’s little girl’, doing the things with him that we both enjoy which bored my brother to death.

Together, we used to go fishing and bird watching. He was the one who bought me my first fishing rod.

Interestingly, he had never been that keen on birds until I came along and wanted him to name them all (and how can you resist the innocent questions of a toddler, right?). So he bought a bird book, and we are both still looking up and discussing unusual birds that we see.

My dad is not a man who becomes angry easily.

Which made it all the more impressive when I once walked around the corner clipping a pair of scissors through the air, and managed to (accidentally) catch his arm with them. It must have hurt a heck of a lot, and I certainly heard some words that time which have laid dormant since his navy days. But his anger was never directed at me, nor did it ever last very long. I wish I was more like him in that way.

I love the fact that my dad and I used to drive to work and school together without much of a word, but it was never an uncomfortable silence. I love the fact that I can just be myself around him.

And yes, he makes stupid dad-jokes. But I adore him.

Happy Birthday, Dad!

Comments»

1. Hielke - 23 April 2010

So cute

lizeth - 23 April 2010

and great compliments!

2. HJK - 1 May 2010

You big softie 🙂


Leave a Reply

