jump to navigation

Cambodian Food 26 February 2010

Posted by uggclogs in Life.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Part of the enjoyment of travelling is, for us, trying new food. I am not the most adventurous of eaters (no grubs and the like for me), but I do like to try new dishes abroad.

And for me, what was surprising about Khmer food, was that it is not spicy. I had for some reason expected it to be more like Thai food – with a real kick in the guts of chilli. Instead, it is a very subtle cuisine, which allows you to taste the flavours of the dish without the (sometimes) overpowering overtones of chilli.

Amok (or amok trey) is a dish that I was particularily intrigued by – and not just because the name appealed to me – it is a coconut based curry which can be eaten with various types of meat or vegetables. We tried the fish version, which was supposed to be the nicest one. It has a beautiful and smooth texture, and it is served in banana leaf which makes for an aestetic experience as well.

Other Khmer curry dishes that we tried were also very good, however, even though I don’t particularily like spicy food, I kept thinking that a tiny bit more chilli in the pot would have added to the flavours of the dishes. And trust me – that is a first!

I also tried Lok Lak (or Loc Lac), which is supposed to be a delicacy as well. It is a beef dish with lime dipping sauce, and it was very nice. Interestingly, I later found out that this is actually a Vietnamese dish which has been adopted by the Cambodians as their own (although slightly modified). In Vietnamese, it is called bo luc lac, which translates as shaken beef. Although if you were to ask any Cambodian today whether it is a Cambodian or Vietnamese dish, you are sure to get the answer Cambodian.

So if you ever have the chance to go to Cambodia – try the local cuisine (the Cambodian barbecue is also heavenly)!

Comments»

1. Khatiya Korner - 26 February 2010

Many people relate Cambodian food to it’s neighbor like Thai and Vietnamese. But like any country the dishes tend to share some similarities and also the longer the dish has been adapted, the more likely one tend to put a claim that it belongs to them and so forth. For me, I don’t really care much who is belongs to. After all, good food is good food ehehe.

If you are interested in trying to make Beef with Lime Sauce at home, hop over to my blog for this recipe, my version, http://khatiya-korner.com/blog/2009/08/20/marinated-beef-with-lime-sauce/

uggclogs - 26 February 2010

This is very true! I am not taking away from the dishes, they are very good! But I do think the history is very interesting.

2. Lizeth - 3 March 2010

Sounds nummy all of them 😉


Leave a Reply

