jump to navigation

Dancing Feet 10 February 2010

Posted by uggclogs in Happiness, shoes.
Tags: ,
trackback

I claim on this blog that I have an affinity for shoes, but thus far I have done nothing to merit this claim, apart from being one of the fairer sex, who are traditionally more into shoes than men are. So here is my first post on the nethermost regions of the human body (and the things that we use to cover them up)!

Watching Fred Astaire and Ginger Rodgers dancing their way across the screen recently in ‘Swing Time’ – one of their classics – I was reminded of how much I like spats.

I used to be fascinated with the concept of spats ever since I used to be an avid reader of Donald Duck comics (impatiently waiting for our weekly delivery, and then fighting it out with my brother who should be allowed to read it first – his argument always coming down to the fact that I couldn’t even read, mine being that I wanted to look at the pictures). At the time, I did not know what they were, but Scrooge McDuck wore a type of footwear which I later realised were in fact a shoe accessory.

Since I stopped reading Donald Duck comics long ago (I left them all at my parents’ house when I moved to university), they have since completely fallen off my radar. Luckily, I was reminded of them while watching dear old Fred!

According to my mate, Wikipedia,

A spat is a type of classic shoe accessory covering the instep and ankle. Spats were primarily worn in the late 19th and early 20th centuries.

Unfortunately, apart from military uniforms around the world, and some protective gear still incorporating spats, they have fallen well out of fashion. But I say bring them back! They are gallant, good looking, and above all, interesting! It would be shame to only associate them with military and parades, which I am not such a big fan of. And perhaps a female version?

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

