jump to navigation

Carrot Cake 29 June 2009

Posted by uggclogs in Baking, Happiness, Life.
Tags:
trackback

I was left with half a stick of cream cheese in my fridge recently, and as I am not a stickler for cream cheese, I decided it was high time to make a carrot cake.

Now, if you have ever been abroad, you will know that certain ingredients that you are used to from home are either unavailable or prohibitly expensive. Luckily, I have contacts here – and useful ones at that. So in searching for icing sugar, I was told that to buy it from the local “Western” shop would cost me an arm and a leg. Luckily, I had recently managed to purchase something close to 8 kilos of normal sugar (due to me not finding the first batch, and thereby thinking I had used it all), so, by putting about a kilo of ‘normal’ sugar in the food processor, I ended up with a kilo of something very close to icing sugar.  It is still slightly more grainy than icing sugar should be, but then again, sometimes you just make due.

Another great little trick I have picked up from reading blogs is that you can actually replace some of the oil required in oily recepies like carrot cake with apple sauce.  Being Dutch, I have an affinity to apple sauce as a vegetable next to my meat and three veg, and I tend to always have some in my fridge. And although I found that the apple sauce was quite overpowering in the perfume of the cake as it baked, it was unnoticable after the cake came out of the oven.

I sliced the cake in half to add an extra layer of cream cheese icing in the middle (something greatly appreciated by my lovely taste tester) and I also added chopped walnuts to the batter for the extra crunch.

And even through the icing was slightly more crystaline than I would have preferred, the cake came out magnificently well.  Well enough, in fact, for me to neglect to take a photo before devouring it completely…

So I guess I will have to try again some other time.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

